• Aqua Books (1999-2012) is now permanently closed. This site is for posterity only. Thank you for everything.
  • Coming May 2014 -

274 Garry St.
(Between Portage
& Graham)

Winnipeg, MB
Canada  R3C 1H3

Tues-Sat 11am-9pm
Sun-Mon Closed


We accept Interac, Visa and Mastercard too

What people are saying:

Your place is my venue of choice when the question is, “where should we go?” and here is why: 1) It is not pretentious, stuck-up, snobby, or takes itself seriously in any way; 2) Maintains a balanced sense of arts and culture in Winnipeg, without going down the path described in (1) that most places have; 3) Food is reasonably priced. And considering the quality, is downright cheap; 4) I can eat there (gluten-free options), and peanut allergy people can relax and eat there too, as can those avoiding dairy, like vegans; it truly is amazing how accessible your menu is.; 5) Open late; 6) On several good bus routes, and if not taking a bus, the parking options are reasonable. I could go on, but I’m sensing your ego might just explode. You and Candace have done an amazing job. Your place is EXACTLY the kind of place that Winnipeg needed. - Helen Konrad, Wolseley

2009 Aqua Books Lansdowne Prize for Poetry/prix Lansdowne de poésie

On Saturday, April 25/09 at the Winnipeg Art Gallery, The Association of Manitoba Book Publishers presented the Manitoba Book Awards gala, hosted by CBC Radio’s Shelagh Rogers. The most important award, of course, was the Aqua Books Lansdowne Prize for Poetry/prix Lansdowne de poésie.

This year's winner:

- this is a small northern town by Rosanna Deerchild, published by The Muses’ Company, an imprint of J. Gordon Shillingford Publishing

Rosanna DeerchildRosanna Deerchild is Cree from South Indian Lake, Manitoba. Her poetry has appeared in a number of literary magazines including Prairie Fire and CV2. She is the co-founder and remains a member of the Aboriginal Writers Collective, established in 1999. Rosanna currently works a broadcaster with NCI-FM and is a regular columnist with CBC. This is a small northern town, Deerchild's long-awaited full-length collection of poems, was published by The Muses' Company in fall 2008. Rosanna has also been nominated for the John Hirsch Award for Most Promising Manitoba Writer.

The other nominees were:
- Fear Not by Maurice Mierau, published by Turnstone Press
- La Métisse filante de Laurent Poliquin, publié par L’Harmattan
- The Sleeping Life by Kerry Ryan, published by The Muses’ Company, an imprint of J. Gordon Shillingford Publishing

Maurice MierauMaurice Mierau was born in Indiana and grew up in Nigeria, Manitoba, Jamaica, Kansas, and Saskatchewan. His first book of poems, Ending with Music, was a finalist for the Eileen McTavish Sykes Award, and his second, a non-fiction book called Memoir of a Living Disease, won the Margaret McWilliams Award from the Manitoba Historical Society. His new book, a poetry collection called Fear Not, is just out from Turnstone Press. Also a busy teacher and editor of both poetry and fiction, and the past president of the League of Canadian Poets, Maurice Mierau lives with his family in Winnipeg. Fear Not has also been nominated for the McNally Robinson Book of the Year.

Laurent PoliquinLaurent Poliquin poursuit des études doctorales à l’Université du Manitoba portant la littérature pour la jeunesse au Canada français. Il est l’auteur de quatre recueils de poésie, dont le plus récent, La Métisse filante, est paru l’an dernier aux Éditions de l’Harmattan, à Paris. Ses poèmes ont aussi été publiés dans plusieurs revues et anthologies au Canada, au Québec, en France et en Italie. Il est membre du comité de rédaction de la revue de poésie Contemporary Verse 2. Depuis 2003, il est aussi éditeur aux Éditions des Plaines.

Kerry RyanKerry Ryan lives and writes in a blue house in Winnipeg. Her poems have appeared in a number of journals and in the anthology Exposed, published by The Muses’ Company in 2003. The Sleeping Life is her first collection of poetry. She is an avid sleeper and a birdwatcher by association.

For the rest of the 2009 winners, click here.

For the 2008 Aqua Lansdowne results, click here.

For more information on the Aqua Books Lansdowne Prize for Poetry/prix Lansdowne de poésie, click here.

top of page

Get the Flash Player to see this player.

Aqua Books Tumblelog Kelly Hughes Live! KHL!TV Writer-in-Residence BookWalk